Laurent PECHEUX (Lyon 1729 - Turin 1821)

Lot 36
Got to lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Laurent PECHEUX (Lyon 1729 - Turin 1821)
The Presentation at the Temple Grey wash over black stone lines 53.5 x 42 cm
(Pitting)
Provenance:
- Collection A. La Fontaine Collection (according to an inscription on the reverse).
Note :
Born in Lyon, Laurent Pêcheux spent most of his career in Italy, where he arrived in 1753. As part of the neoclassical movement, he was influenced mainly by the Roman Batoni and his German rival Mengs. Distinguished in Rome for the Portrait of the Jesuit
François Jacquier, he was asked to work at the Court of Parma, where he became the official portraitist. He painted a notable portrait of the future Queen of Spain, Marie-Louise de Bourbon Parma, as well as the decorations for the ducal chapel in Colorno.
He then worked again in Rome, painting frescoes for great families such as the Borghese. Pêcheux worked for nearly twenty years, without ever returning to France, on a series of twelve paintings on the life of Christ, including a Presentation in the Temple, for the Collegiate Church of Notre Dame in Dole, between 1762 and 1781. He also received commissions for foreign enthusiasts such as Catherine II of Russia.
From 1776, Laurent Pêcheux moved to Turin, appointed director of the Albertina Academy, and also worked on the frescoes of the Royal Library.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Laurent PECHEUX (Lyon 1729 - Turin 1821)

Lot 36
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Laurent PECHEUX (Lyon 1729 - Turin 1821)
La Présentation au Temple Lavis gris sur traits à la pierre noire 53,5 x 42 cm
(Piqûres)
Provenance :
- Collection A. La Fontaine (selon une inscription au verso).
Note :
Né à Lyon, Laurent Pêcheux fi t l'essentiel de sa carrière en Italie où il arriva en 1753, S'inscrivant dans le courant néoclassique, il fut infl uencé principalement par le romain Batoni et son rival allemand Mengs. Distingué à Rome pour le Portrait du Jésuite
François Jacquier, il fut demandé à la Cour de Parme dont il devint le portraitiste offi ciel. Il fi t notamment un portrait remarqué de la future reine d'Espagne, Marie - Louise de Bourbon Parme ainsi que les décors de la chapelle ducale de Colorno.
Il travailla ensuite de nouveau à Rome, réalisant des fresques pour de grandes familles comme les Borghèse. Pêcheux travailla pendant près de vingt ans, sans jamais revenir en France, sur une série de douze toiles sur la vie du Christ, dont une Présentation au Temple, destinées à la Collégiale Notre Dame de Dole, entre 1762 et 1781. Il reçut également des commandes pour des amateurs étrangers comme Catherine II de Russie.
A partir de 1776, Laurent Pêcheux s'installa défi nitivement à Turin, nommé directeur de l'Académie Albertina, et travailla aussi sur les fresques de la Bibliothèque royale.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue